Interview at the incredible magazine, Rain Taxi

?????

One of my absolute favorite magazines, Rain Taxi, did this interview with me about Bald New World. I talked influences, science fiction, Bohemian Rhapsody, the life of Leucochloridium paradoxum, getting my wisdom teeth pulled, and whether I’d wear a wig or not if the Baldification actually happened. The winter issue is pretty fantastic and includes an interview with Neil Gaiman, which is awesome in itself, as well as some other great reviews. I’m also really glad they let me take some time answering the questions as I was on a bit of an interview burnout when I initially received it (there’s only so much I can say on the same topic before I run out of new ideas, ha ha). I think it took about six months to reply, but that time also gave me a chance to reflect more on the themes and ideas behind BNW. Big thanks to Berit and Rain Taxi for doing this great, and tough, interview. One of the first questions she asked was: “Which literary genres, if any, influenced Bald New World the most, and why?” To which I replied:

How would you label Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody? It’s part ballad, part operatic, and has a hard rock climax, but it’s the cohesion that makes the work so compelling. I’ve never thought about books in terms of genre. My main focus is on whether it tells a good story and if I like the characters involved.

Check out the whole interview at the link below:

http://www.raintaxi.com/bald-new-world-an-interview-with-peter-tieryas-liu/

One thought on “Interview at the incredible magazine, Rain Taxi

Leave a Reply

