Folio Prize Logo added for updated Bald New World Cover

bnwfolioprize

This was a cool little update to the Bald New World cover my publisher just added with the Folio Prize logo added in the lower right corner. It’s Christmas Eve, and it made me think of Christmas last year. Bald New World hadn’t come out yet (in fact, I was still working on edits), I was in a different city, and I had no idea what the reception to the book would be.

I recently picked BNW up and just started reading it again. Amidst all the reviews and criticism, you sometimes forget the little things. I remember spending so much time over the last winter break, making sure all the parallels, symbols, and themes worked, from the names of the characters to even specific phrase references as homage to some of my favorite books.

You never know what the reaction will be, if people will even care. And while that’s important, I think the emphasis should always be on telling the story you care most about. As I quoted Virginia Woolf last week:

“So long as you write what you wish to write, that is all that matters; and whether it matters for ages or only for hours, nobody can say. ”

Included in “what you wish to write” is that you’re having fun telling the story you are. Don’t get caught up in what people say, think, or not say or do. Just enjoy telling the stories and as always, be grateful to every reader, whether it’s one, or a million.

Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas! (I refuse to say XMas as I find it ridiculous, ha ha) though in lieu of that, I will also say, happy holidays everyone and thanks to everyone who has stopped by my blog this year. =)

Leave a Reply

