Sign of Gao Lan published at one of my favorite literary magazines, Kyoto Journal

image

I’m beyond thrilled to have my story, The Sign of Gao Lan, published in the Kyoto Journal. KJ is one of the most prestigious magazines around and I’ve wanted to get in there as long as I can remember. They publish only 1-2 stories per issues, so I was thrilled to have my story included. Gao Lan (which actually was first published in the McNeese Review) is a story about a poor Chinese boy who’s trying to make a living and then comes into a whole lot of money. It relies on the structures of old Chinese parables as well as one of my favorite Chinese stories, Ah Q by Lu Xun. On top of that, the art they specially designed for the story is freaking awesome. Drawn by Gregory Miles, it perfectly depicts the plight of the characters as well as the sea of garlic. Thank you so much Kyoto Journal!!!!

kj01

Leave a Reply

