Venice by Night

Venice at night is beautiful and sublime. It can be daunting if you don’t know where you’re going. Fortunately, for the most part, it’s very safe (apart from the mosquitoes) and as long as you have a map, you’ll eventually find your way. The bridges connect the 118 small islands and I often found myself thinking I’d come across a dead end, only to see someone pop out from an alley I had not espied previously. I’d approach, go into it, and then find myself in a huge square. No fanfare, no signs, just hundreds of people enjoying the Venice nightlife which consists a whole lot of great seafood, wine, and conversation. There was a tranquility in the cool breeze of Venice (I understand why George Clooney picked it as the site of his wedding!). That shadowy figure is Angela and I also included two day images near where we were staying to illustrate the contrast.

venice00 venice01 venice02 venice03

Leave a Reply

