Final Fantasy Black Mage CG Model I Did When I Was First Starting Out

I was going through my old portfolio which helped me getting my first gig as an artist. I was just 19 (or 20) when I did it and it was when Maya had first come out. I was teaching myself late at night, sometimes not even sleeping so I could learn. Inspired by a Final Fantasy toy of a black mage (with those round swivel legs that stuck outside the body and colorful clothes), I tried to animate him conjuring a fire spell of Marilyn Monroe’s face. It’s primitive (sorry), but a nostalgic reminder of my roots as a VFX artist. I look at it now and laugh, but I remember being so proud of it when I completed my first pass of it, ha ha.

wizard

Leave a Reply

