One of the most inspiring points for me as a writer was this rejection note from Esquire when I was a 16-year old High School Student

I was organizing a lot of my older stuff and going through old rejection slips when I came across this rejection note I got when, not knowing better as a 16-year old high school student, I sent Esquire a short story. I was so thrilled and encouraged when they sent me this nice note back. Esquire published many of Fitzgerald’s short stories so I had sent them something, assuming they would either not reply or just a form rejection. All these years later, I’m still grateful that someone took the time to read the story and comment back as it was very inspiring and encouraging for me being as young as I was. Thank you mysterious E.W.. Wherever you are, I hope you have had much success and good karma =)

esquireb

Leave a Reply

