The 7 Weirdest Foods in RPGs

weirdfood

Let’s mix two of my favorite subjects; gaming and food. I’ve seen a lot of weird foods while traveling through Asia. I wasn’t always courageous enough to try them all. A friend of mine told me they serve live monkeys in the Sichuan area which I haven’t seen, though I have once tried cow brains dipped in curry- it was soft, gooey, and made me feel guilty with every bite, a remorse I am haunted by to this day. They have huge fried spiders in Cambodia, a species of tarantula which I don’t imagine will be coming to a KFC near us any time soon. In the movie, Old Boy, Oh Dae-su eats a live octopus which doesn’t seem that tasty, though I wonder what it would be like eating a live kraken leg and if you’re the one who’ll end up getting suctioned to death. What’s the strangest thing you’ve eaten? There are lots of weird foods in role-playing games, those long, sprawling, narratives, disguised in sprites and polygons so they can subject themselves to fandom and the snobs who proclaim gaming isn’t art only to realize the gaming transcends art. Let’s start with…

The rest at Entropy =)

http://entropymag.org/7-weirdest-foods-in-rpgs/

2 thoughts on “The 7 Weirdest Foods in RPGs

Leave a Reply

