Forbidden City in the Rain

The first time I visited the Forbidden City, it was raining and it was amazing seeing the grand site filled with pedestrians wielding their colored umbrellas. It was bigger than I could have imagined and even when I thought it couldn’t go on any further, it just kept on going. It’s one of those places you really have to visit to grasp. It inspired me so much, I wrote one of my favorite stories, “Forbidden City Hoops,” based on some of my experiences there (this was the story published in ZYZZYVA). I think I’ve visited the palaces a total of four times and every time, have found something new. My legs also get one heckuva workout, ha ha.

forbiddencityrain01forbiddencityrain02

Leave a Reply

