“When Fortune published an article about me and titled it: “is David Ogilvy a Genius?,” I asked my lawyer to sue the editor for the question mark.” Some Favorite Quotes from David Ogilvy’s Confessions of an Advertising Man

davidogilvyu

I randomly found David Ogilvy’s Confessions of an Advertising Man at a used book store for five bucks and when I read the first few pages, I knew I had to pick it up. Like a good wine, I am savoring it rather than rushing through the pages, enjoying the words and letting them linger. Food works as an analogy because in an interesting twist, much of what he learned about advertising, he learned while working at a restaurant (and not in kindergarten). Here’s some of my favorite quotes so far:

“I admire people who work with gusto. If you don’t enjoy what you are doing, I beg you to find another job.”

“The temptation to entertain instead of selling is contagious.”

“Any damn fool can put on a price reduction, but it takes brains and perseverance to create a brand.”

“Search all the parks in all your cities; you’ll find no statues of committees.”

“When Fortune published an article about me and titled it: “is David Ogilvy a Genius?,” I asked my lawyer to sue the editor for the question mark.”

“It is important to admit your mistakes, and to do so before you are charged with them.”

2 thoughts on ““When Fortune published an article about me and titled it: “is David Ogilvy a Genius?,” I asked my lawyer to sue the editor for the question mark.” Some Favorite Quotes from David Ogilvy’s Confessions of an Advertising Man

  1. Pingback: Tieryas Reviews David Ogilvy’s Confessions of an Advertising Man | The Whimsy of Creation: The Blog of Tieryas

  2. Pingback: book review: ogilvy on advertising a.k.a i hate rules | theWriteDose.com - Copywriting for Creative Agencies

Leave a Reply

