Editing on the computer is great, but sometimes, you just need to print the whole thing out.

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend! Editing on the computer is great, but sometimes, you just need to print the whole manuscript out. That’s the case with my forthcoming book which I’ve edited and re-edited and edited again about thirty times. I’m hoping to get what I consider a final version to my editor at Perfect Edge in the upcoming weeks for them to do a final edit, so I decided to print the whole thing out and comb it line by line. There’s a lot of little things I’m noticing, not so much problems or errors, but lines I feel could be better clarified and sentences that could be cut. These are things i think I was less inclined to notice on screen, but easily spotted when I could just slash away with my pen (that’s why I always do this!). It’s in some ways a laborious and painful process, but at the same time, every bit puts back the focus on what really matters for me, and that’s the story. Also, ironically, I’ve been making a game version of the first chapter for the book, and the game has inspired me to add some sequences into the book. Just a few lines here and there that I think will make the book much better. It’s a case of showing more and telling less which always becomes a balancing act (and a cliche that everyone preaches). Once it’s out there in print, I can’t take anything back. Anything I miss is with me as long as the book is in existence, ha ha. So I’ll be spending the rest of the day editing, editing, and editing. =)

bnwprint

Leave a Reply

