Animal statues at Gyeongbokgung Palace in Seoul

It was so interesting visiting Seoul after not being there since I was a kid, but not as stark a difference as I would have thought. That is perhaps partly influenced by the fact that I spent a few years in Koreatown in LA, surrounded by Koreans and Korean stores, ha ha. In fact, I was surprised to see similar stores, markets, and coffee shops. Even the food we ate tasted almost identical and in some ways, I even preferred the American versions of Korean foods. I say this to contrast it with the shock I received when I first entered China, which was vastly different from the Chinatown’s I’d visited in America (LA, SF, and NY). Still, it was obviously different and I tried to see if I could recollect any memories from my past. It felt foreign, and yet not completely foreign. The Han River and all the bridges were beautiful and I also really liked these animal statues I saw at Gyeongbokgung. My favorite was the eagle statue below. (as a side note, I wondered if the sculptors who built these statues thought about progeny or they were just doing their job, wishing they could be doing something else, ha ha.)

rockstatue01 rockstatue02 rockstatue03

Leave a Reply

