Robert Henri on Rejection: The better or more personal you are the less likely they are of acceptance.

I love The Art Spirit by Robert Henri, an incredible artist whose work I greatly admire. While it’s a book about Henri’s lectures on art, it could easily be about writing as well. And as I am on the topic of literary rejections this week, I wanted to quote his thoughts on rejection that I found comforting.

Don’t worry about the rejections. Everyone that’s good has gone through it. Don’t let it matter if your works are not “accepted” at once. The better or more personal you are the less likely they are of acceptance. Just remember that the object of painting pictures is not simply to get them in exhibitions… You are painting for yourself, not for the jury. I had many years of rejections.

To all my writer friends out there struggling, remember, everyone goes through it. Just keep at it! =)

Leave a Reply

