Magical Realism to a new degree in fiction: Newark Patch reviews Watering Heaven

The Newark Patch did an incredible review of Watering Heaven that I really enjoyed. The reviewer, Lauren Lola, brought up some very interesting points about the book. It’s interesting because when I write, I don’t think necessarily of magical realism or any genre related ideas. Rather, I focus on the theme and the story I want to tell, using the magical elements to help me illustrate whatever it is I want to flush out through the story. Often times, it’s an emotional bug that just won’t leave me alone until it’s written down on paper (or my computer monitor). Thank you Lauren!

This short story collection, which was recently longlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, presents 20 first-person narratives of obscure journeys of life in the modern day world, combined with a touch here and there of magical realism.  From the streets of Beijing, to some of our own country’s grand metropolises such as Los Angeles and New York City, these unnamed or otherwise not fully revealed narrators describe to readers stories that explore the search for one’s identity, purpose and happiness in life.

waterheaven-proof-v3

2 thoughts on “Magical Realism to a new degree in fiction: Newark Patch reviews Watering Heaven

Leave a Reply

