Versatile Blogger Award

Arcadepop nominated The Whimsy of Creation (this blog) with a Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you Arcadepop! To quote him about the responsibilities:

Now down to business, with great awards comes great responsibility and there is responsibility attached to the Versatile Blogger Award.

  • Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  • Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

So, thank you very much! Here’s a link to their blog! Arcadepop has some very interesting, fun articles that I always enjoying ‘popping’ in on.

Here’s a few bloggers that I am nominating for the Versatile Award. In making any list, you’re always worried, who I am leaving out? These are the ones I regularly visit, though there are many other awesome blogs out there! For now, the list is at 12, though I know I’m going to remember one and add it here!

1. Rio Liang: Writing about videogames, literature, and some of the best science fiction around, Rio’s blog is one of the most versatile around and includes some awesome essays. He is an inspiration to me as a gaming journalist! He’s also just recently started his hand at fiction. I’ve read some and it’s breath-taking.

2. Christine Lee Zilka: I love Christine’s blog and love visiting her site. She writes beautiful prose and her candor in sharing her experiences as a writer are truly encouraging. I also love the beautiful photos on her site, including delicious food! She is working on a book and I can’t wait until it comes out.

3. Joseph Michael Owens: I met Joseph Michael Owens through Pank. He writes some of the best book reviews and his collection of short stories, Shenanigans, is awesome and a must-read. He has one of the rare gifts of being able to combine humor, sensitivity, and a deeper message to craft wonderful stories. We also share a mutual passion for videogames!

4. Pank Blog: Speaking of Pank, they have one of the most kickass blogs around that pretty much covers EVERYTHING! If you have even an inkling of passion for literature, you owe it to yourself to check it out.

5. Roxane Gay: Roxane (who’s also the editor of PANK) is like a force of nature. Her writing is truly, truly incredible. Everything I read by her moves me, whether it’s fiction, an essay, and even her film reviews. When I read her book, Ayiti, I was floored by the stories. She takes the craft of writing, splits it apart, and creates new types of stories that make you just go, OMG and WTF and then filled with a complete silence that comes only after awe. I love reading her blog as she shares many of her experiences.

6. Camera Obscura Journal Blog– Aperture: Are you familiar with the Camera Obscura Journal? You should be. It’s one of the most beautifully designed magazines I’ve ever come across. The photography is incredible and the stories within are all remarkable forays into the human experience. Their blog, Aperture, interviews many of the writers published within its pages, as well as including various other information. It’s one of the sites I consistently visit.

7. HER KIND: The Official Blog of Vida: This is a truly incredible blog and I’ll let their description sum it up for them: HER KIND is voices discordant and daring, bold and barefaced. HER KIND has a mission—to illuminate the diversity of the female voice— as much as it has a sense of humor. We resist singular classification, cultural censors, and venture into unexplored possibilities. HER KIND is a bridge of cultural memories, formed by the unflinching, enduring strides of women writers today—and tomorrow.

8. Jackson Bliss: I found out about Jackson’s writing as I was published in ZYZZYVA with him and this is one of my favorite blogs on the internet. The boldness with which he shares his experiences as a writer is reflected in the boldness of his prose. His writing, sparkles, crackles, flies off the page.

9. Parker Tettleton: It’s hard not to believe in magic if you’ve read anything by Parker. The way he renders his prose is like magic. He uses words in truly unique ways that evoke so much emotion and feeling. Sometimes, I read something by him over and over, and everytime, there’s a nuance I’ve missed, a word that takes on new context on re-reading This blog updates readers on his many publications and is a definite must-follow.

10. Bookslut: I contribute for bookslut and a big part of the reason is because I love Jessa Crispin’s blog. Her insights into the literary field are unique and intriguing. Check it out!

11. Gamesfemme: I really enjoy her blog and love reading her thoughts on videogames. She also is a PhD student in history which explains, in part, why there’s so much insight in every one of her entries!

12. Fox Chase Review: I really enjoy this blog and get all sorts of great literary updates from the site. There’s interviews with poets, writer, and listings for cool reading events.

Leave a Reply

