Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

I read this book (Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig) first in high school and really enjoyed it. On a whim, I picked it up again and was amazed at not just how thought-provoking and deep it is, but at how much I remembered. Then again, there were parts where I didn’t remember at all and I wondered if I’d even understood some of the more poignant lines. To my surprise, there were highlights marking those exact lines- they’d touched me in high school and touched me again now that I’m much older. Over the next week, I’ll share some of my favorite quotes. Make sure to check out the book if you haven’t already! It’s a deep, meaningful chataqua with the writer as he crosses America.

A motorcycle functions entirely in accordance with the laws of reason, and a study of the art of motorcycle maintenance is really a miniature study of the art of rationality itself.

Image

Leave a Reply

