Castlevania: The Game That Introduced Us To Horror

I’ve been nostalgic of late. The second NES game I ever saw/played was Castlevania. I still remember going to a friend’s house and seeing it for the first time. It blew my mind. I’m grateful to my editor, Maria, and gamedynamo, for this chance to revisit this class to celebrate its’ 25th birthday. I also referred back to a great documentary I saw a few years back, the American Nightmare, which my buddy Geoff introduced me to. Here’s a short preview:

“The worst horror films are the ones in which the villains can’t be defeated. Think about the first Halloween and the seemingly invincible Michael Myers. Or even in the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre where there is no heroine and Leatherface lives on. At best, escape is the only option, meaning the evil still remains. Wes Craven, in the great documentary about horror films, The American Nightmare, compares horror films to mental bootcamp. They prepare the psyche of kids for the evils of the world and expose them to ideas that are completely egregious otherwise. Despite the fact that these movies can induce terrifying nightmares, kids are still drawn to them. Why? Because it’s a way to ward off the evil within the confines of a safe environment. It’s only a movie, right? In that context, Castlevania wasn’t just a form of preparation, but a way to fight back. All you needed was your trusty whip!”

The Link

Leave a Reply

