Top 10 Zombies To Make You Leave the Grave

Last week, I did a preview of Lollipop Chainsaw. It had me thinking a lot about society and the significance in the rampancy of zombie games. I still remember Resident Evil. No one told me anything about it and I had no idea what to expect. I know people know everything about it now. But at the time, it was my first foray into a survival horror game, and it was terrifying. What I loved so much about the game was how it explored human nature and its relationship to science- or in this case, pseudo-science. Every step in that haunted mansion had me dreading going forward.  I didn’t want to turn the corner and bump into one of the living dead!

My editor at GameDynamo, the wonderful Maria Montoro, noted all the zombie games everywhere and suggested making a top 10 list of the best zombie games. I scoured high and low for the list! Angela suggested Plants Vs. Zombies (seeing her play is unbelievable) as well as us engaging a long discussion on zombies in society. I put a very shortened, humorous summary of some of the things we discussed in the article. So here is the top 10 list!

” I have nothing against zombies except for the fact that they want to eat me alive. And diversity is rampant among the sleepless undead. Just last week, I previewed Lollipop Chainsaw and the high school zombies went after my brains. This week, Dead Island has bikini’d zombie chasing writers at GameDynamo trying to digest their guts. Aren’t there any vegetarian zombies out there? Here’s a list of the Top 10 Zombie Games of all time guaranteed to make you cry and weep and occasionally pump a fist as you mow down the biohazards that make our lives a living nightmare.”

And my favorite part from Siren:

“I think this is the only zombie game I played in which the zombies became so willingly. In my Lollipop Chainsaw preview, I talked about the ‘zombification’ of society that would prefer to make mindless automatons of people, told what to like, aspire to, given a set of beliefs and codes to follow. It’s easy to laugh at cults because they are such an extreme example of brainwashing. And yet, one can’t help but wonder at the disturbing parallels between zombiehood and the shirking of personal responsibility that is at the core of blind faith. The best in horror makes us question human nature (or at least peak at the darker aspects we don’t normally like to face), and in the case of Siren, the horror isn’t the zombies, but the fact that you can’t do anything to permanently fend off the evil, at best, only escaping it.”

Top 10 Zombies

Leave a Reply

