9 Thoughts On Being A Videogame Journalist in Pank’s This Modern Writer

Man oh man, I love Pank Magazine. One of the editors, Roxane Gay, also happens to be one of my favorite writers. And I love their “This Modern Writer’ essay series which is about writing in all its different forms. I was thrilled, let me repeated, THRILLED to not only get my work accepted by Pank, but also to work with Roxane on making the piece even stronger. Her comments and editorial suggestions were brilliant. It was like carving out a diamond (well, you might not think my essay is a diamond, haha, but I’m very proud of it). And it helped me tremendously as a writer. Please take a look! I share mistakes, triumphs, general thoughts, etc. I wanted to say thanks to my GameDynamo editor, Maria Montoro, for letting me share so freely about my experiences at GD. Also a shout out to Rio Liang, a fabulous writer, whose article inspired me as well.

About Pank:

Founded in 2006 by M. Bartley Seigel, the nonprofit literary arts collective [PANK] — PANK Magazine, Pankmagazine.com, the PANK Little Book Series — is committed to fostering access to emerging and experimental poetry and prose, from its brightest and most promising writers, to its most adventurous readers, across a variety of delivery platforms. In 2010, across its print and digital platforms [PANK] reached an audience of approximately 100,000 readers in well over 100 countries around the world. In the same year, Pankmagazine.com logged 934,513 hits and  152,867 visits from 75,771 absolute unique visitors. [PANK]‘s acceptance rate for publication is 1% of total submissions.

And a blurb from the article:

“Only in game journalism can you write about legions of bikini-clad zombies, a boss made entirely of sh*t who sings opera, talking Seamen that question your existence, and the Legend of Zelda, the perpetual love triangle that pits an elf against a thievish pig-monster for the affections of Princess Zelda, all in one sentence without blinking an eye. I’ve been in game development for the first half of my career, working as a character technical director and writing some of the paper manuals you can read in games. It’s only in the past year that I’ve taken up the mantle of game journalist. Here are nine observations/guidelines that I’ve had along the way.”

The article

Leave a Reply

